Facts and figures about the HMM Algeciras

The HMM Algeciras, the new flagship of the South Korean shipping company HMM (formerly Hyundai Merchant Marine), was calling in Hamburg at the maiden voyage. It is the first of twelve ships of the HMM “megamax” class.

The "HMM Algeciras" crossing the river Elbe from the German Bight to Hamburg.
Fountains at the reception in Hamburg harbour: Along the rive Elbe many shipspotters were watching.
To welcome the „HMM Algeciras" the name oft he South Korean shipping company HMM was formed by empty containers.
With the help of extremely powerful tugs, the mega freighter is fitted into its berth at Burchardkai.
At HHLA Terminal Burchardkai, work is also carried out at night to handle 13,600 standard containers in a short time.
400 metres long and 60 metres wide is the largest container ship in the world.
Ahoy and see you next time in Hamburg!

With a capacity of 24,000 TEU, the mega-freighter is currently the largest container ship in the world. The new vessels feature a cutting-edge hybrid-scrubber system for exhaust gas cleaning that complies with the international environmental standard IMO 2020. An optimised hull design and innovative engines also improve energy efficiency and reduce carbon emissions. 

The HMM Algeciras travels in the FE4 service between Asia and Northern Europe for the shipping consortium The Alliance, and also calls in Hamburg. The ship is handled at HHLA Container Terminal Burchardkai where Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG (HHLA) has two mega-ship berths (a third is under construction) as well as the largest container gantry cranes in the Port of Hamburg. 
 

Facts and figures

  • Shipping company: HMM (formerly Hyundai Merchant Marine)  
  • Total length: 400 metres 
  • Width: 61 metres 
  • Max. draft: 16.50 metres 
  • Container capacity: 24,000 TEU 
  • Carrying capacity: 224,999 dwt 
  • Year constructed: 2020 
  • Shipyard: Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering (DSME), South Korea   
  • Flag: Panama 
  • Port rotation: Qingdao (China), Busan (South Korea), Ningbo (China), Shanghai (China), Yantian (China), Suez Canal, Rotterdam (Netherlands), Hamburg (Germany), Antwerp (Belgium), London Gateway (UK), Singapore via Suez Canal

Daten und Fakten zur „HMM Algeciras“

Die „HMM Algeciras“, das neue Flaggschiff der südkoreanischen Reederei HMM (vormals Hyundai Merchant Marine), lief auf ihrer Jungfernfahrt Hamburg an. Sie ist das erste von insgesamt zwölf baugleichen Schiffen der sogenannten HMM Megamax-Klasse.

Die „HMM Algeciras“ bei der sogenannten Revierfahrt von der Deutschen Bucht über die Elbe nach Hamburg.
Fontänen zum Empfang im Hamburger Hafen: Am Ufer verfolgten viele Schaulustige den Einlauf.
Zur Begrüßung der „HMM Algeciras“ wurde aus Leercontainern der Name der südkoreanischen Reederei HMM gestapelt.
Mit Hilfe äußerst PS-starker Schlepper wird der Mega-Frachter in seinen Liegeplatz am Burchardkai eingepasst.
Auf dem HHLA-Terminal Burchardkai wird auch nachts gearbeitet, um 13.600 Standardcontainer in kurzer Zeit umzuschlagen.
400 Meter lang und 60 Meter breit ist das größte Containerschiff der Welt.
Ahoi und bis zum nächsten Mal in Hamburg!

Mit einer Kapazität von 24.000 TEU ist der Mega-Frachter das derzeit größte Containerschiff der Welt. Die neue Baureihe zeichnet sich durch ein hochmodernes Hybrid-Scrubber-System zur Abgasreinigung gemäß den internationalen Umweltanforderung IMO 2020 aus. Ein optimiertes Rumpfdesign und innovative Motoren verbessern zudem die Energieeffizienz und verringern die CO2-Emissionen.

Die „HMM Algeciras“ kommt auf der Route zwischen Asien und Nordeuropa im Dienst FE4 des Schifffahrtskonsortiums The Alliance zum Einsatz und läuft dabei auch Hamburg an. Abgefertigt wird das Schiff am HHLA Container Terminal Burchardkai, wo die Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG über zwei Großschiffsliegeplätze (ein dritter ist in der Umsetzung) und die größten Containerbrücken im Hamburger Hafen verfügt.
 

Daten und Fakten

  • Reederei: HMM (vormals Hyundai Merchant Marine)
  • Länge über alles: 400 Meter
  • Breite: 61 Meter
  • Max. Tiefgang: 16,50 Meter
  • Containerstellplätze: 24.000 TEU
  • Tragfähigkeit: 224.999 tdw
  • Baujahr: 2020
  • Bauwerft: Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering (DSME), Südkorea 
  • Flagge: Panama
  • Hafenrotation: Qingdao (China), Busan (Südkorea), Ningbo (China), Shanghai (China), Yantian (China), Suez-Kanal, Rotterdam (Niederlande), Hamburg (Deutschland), Antwerpen (Belgien), London Gateway (UK), Singapur via Suez-Kanal