/ SEARCH
/ DEUTSCH/ ENGLISH

HHLA looking beyond Hamburg for future success

The Hamburg-based port logistics group is stepping up its international presence and seeking new takeover opportunities abroad

Philip Sweens (l.), Managing Director HHLA
International, and General Director of CTO, Anastas Kokkin

Going to bed at around midnight after a work dinner in Odessa, getting back into a taxi at half past five in the morning to catch another flight at seven and then attending a last-minute meeting with the Ukrainian railway director in the country’s capital, Kiev. And then in the evening, it’s time to fly back to Hamburg via Warsaw. Philip Sweens, who makes a time slot available for an interview between one of these landings and take-offs, says that he took 220 flights last year: “I’m sure it won’t be as many this year.”

Sweens (48), Managing Director of HHLA International, has been expanding the international business of the Hamburg-based port logistics group assisted by a handful of employees since 2017. He has big ambitions. HHLA had achieved steady growth outside of the Hamburg area in the freight transport sector with its subsidiary Metrans. But it had been some time since the Group had taken measures to push forward its expansion on foreign quaysides. That all changed when Angela Titzrath took over as Chairwoman of HHLA’s Executive Board back in early 2017.

 

HHLA International to become more important 


Since then, HHLA’s international port business has been back on the agenda and Sweens is the person who has been given responsibility for it. Although HHLA does not make the revenue and profit attributable to his business unit public, Sweens says: “We expect HHLA International to become much more important to the Group as a whole in strategic terms over the next few years.”

HHLA had taken over a terminal in the Ukrainian city of Odessa, on the Black Sea, in 2001. Despite the war in the east of the country and Russia’s annexation of the Crimean Peninsula in 2014, the Group invested around 150 million dollars in modernising the site from 2005 onwards, recently doubling its surface area by expanding into the sea. In 2018, HHLA also took over a terminal operator in Muuga, close to the Estonian capital, Tallinn. Both terminals, like many of HHLA’s smaller foreign companies, are part of Sweens’ business unit. “I’m not involved in the operational management in Muuga or Odessa; we have fully staffed management teams on site to do that. My role is to ensure that we achieve the results we are aiming for and to oversee the strategic further development of the business. I’m also in close contact with the individual authorities and governments.”

 

Emphasis on the transport flows of the future

 

Sweens, who was born in Switzerland and is also a citizen of the Netherlands, moved to HHLA from the shipping company UASC. The experienced port and shipping manager is to be responsible for expanding the international network of Hamburg’s biggest port company. “Takeovers of terminals in Europe, such as the recent one in Muuga, are all about developing logistical hubs and we are placing particular emphasis on the transport flows of the future”, he says. “What is more, the terminals in Estonia and Ukraine offer considerable growth potential irrespective of this.”

In its quest for expansion, HHLA started focusing on Eastern Europe in the 1990s. At that time, this was mainly due to the opening of the Eastern European and Russian market. Nowadays, these moves are also being pursued with the strategic aim of forging as close links as possible between the Port of Hamburg and the development of new trading routes to Asia as part of China’s “New Silk Road” project.

Given the tension between Russia and the European Union – especially over the Ukraine conflict – this entails a constant risk: “It goes without saying that the current tensions between the EU and Russia are having an impact on our business", says Sweens. “But the investment in the terminals in Muuga and in Odessa, which aren’t located far from Russia, are intended to be a long-term commitment. We expect the political situation to ease in the long term.”

 

 

 

Sweens says that HHLA could also seek expansion opportunities beyond Europe’s borders over the next few years if they present themselves. The company, which is 68 percent owned by the city of Hamburg, held an interest in a terminal in Chile for a few years before disposing of it again. The subsidiary HPC, which originally also took over the terminal in Odessa, is familiar with the global market for equity investments. HHLA also looked at a large number of terminals in several other countries before finally opting to take over the operator in Estonia. “We examine new investments to see whether they offer us an appropriate return, whether they give us more clout in our dealings with shipping companies and whether we can capitalise on our expertise”, says Sweens. We don’t necessarily have to be a majority owner.”

The company’s investments are, however, always highly specialised and require precise knowledge of the country concerned. “When it comes to expanding our international business, we do not intend to, and indeed will not, measure ourselves against market leaders like Hutchison or Dubai Ports. The key aspect for us is that acquisitions are a good fit for our network and for HHLA’s expansion”, says Sweens. “HHLA isn’t focusing on maximum size, but rather first and foremost on the new diversity that is emerging in the logistics and port business. And obviously it’s about creating added value for our owners.”

In the long term, Sweens says that the aim is also to establish links between HHLA’s terminals in Eastern Europe and the rail freight network of its subsidiary, Metrans. For the time being, however, the company wants to improve the road and rail links between its existing terminals and the hinterland, especially in Odessa. This is something that can only be achieved with the backing of local policymakers. And that’s exactly why Sweens had to get up very early today to make sure he didn’t miss his flight to Kiev.

 

Author: Olaf Preuss / WELT

/ SUCHEN
/ DEUTSCH/ ENGLISH

HHLA sucht Erfolg auch jenseits von Hamburg

Der Hafenkonzern der Hansestadt verstärkt seine internationale Präsenz und sucht neue Möglichkeiten für Übernahmen im Ausland

Philip Sweens (l.), Geschäftsführer von HHLA
International, mit Manager Anastas Kokkin auf
dem Terminal in Odessa

Nach einem Arbeitsessen in Odessa gegen Mitternacht ins Bett, um halb sechs ins Taxi und um sieben Uhr wieder in den Flieger, kurzfristig zu einem Gespräch mit dem ukrainischen Bahnchef in die Hauptstadt Kiew. Von dort abends zurück über Warschau nach Hamburg. Im vergangenen Jahr sei er 220 Mal geflogen, sagt Philip Sweens an diesem Tag zwischen einer Landung und einem Start: „Dieses Jahr wird es sicher weniger.“

Mit einer Handvoll Mitarbeitern baut Sweens (48), Geschäftsführer von HHLA International, seit 2017 das Auslandsgeschäft des Hamburger Hafenkonzerns aus. Die Ambitionen sind groß. Im Güterbahnverkehr war die HHLA, mit ihrem Tochterunternehmen Metrans, außerhalb Hamburgs stetig gewachsen. An den Kaikanten im Ausland aber hatte der Konzern seine Expansion lange Zeit nicht mehr vorangetrieben. Das änderte sich mit dem Amtsantritt von Angela Titzrath als Vorstandsvorsitzende Anfang 2017. Seither wird das Hafengeschäft der HHLA im Ausland wieder aktiviert, und Sweens ist dafür zuständig.

 

Bedeutung von HHLA International wird wachsen


Umsatz und Gewinn seines Bereiches würden zwar nicht öffentlich ausgewiesen, sagt er: „Wir gehen aber davon aus, dass die strategische Bedeutung von HHLA International für den Gesamtkonzern in den nächsten Jahren deutlich wachsen wird.“

Im Jahr 2001 hatte die HHLA einen Terminal in der ukrainischen Stadt Odessa am Schwarzen Meer übernommen. Trotz des Krieges in der Ostukraine und der Annektion der Krim durch Russland im Jahr 2014 investierte der Konzern seit 2005 rund 150 Millionen Dollar in die Modernisierung der Anlage, die Fläche wurde jüngst durch eine Erweiterung ins Meer hinein verdoppelt. 2018 übernahm die HHLA zudem einen Terminalbetreiber in Muuga nahe der estnischen Hauptstadt Tallinn. Beide Terminals zählen, wie auch kleinere Auslandsfirmen der HHLA, zum Geschäftsbereich von Sweens. „Ich führe nicht die operativen Geschäfte in Muuga und in Odessa, dafür haben wir jeweils komplette Managementteams vor Ort. Meine Rolle ist es, sicherzustellen, dass die angestrebten Ergebnisse erreicht und die Geschäfte strategisch weiterentwickelt werden. Außerdem halte ich engen Kontakt zu den jeweiligen Behörden und Regierungen.“  

 

Transportströme der Zukunft im Blick haben

 

Der gebürtige Schweizer Sweens, der auch niederländischer Staatsbürger ist, war von der Reederei UASC zur HHLA gewechselt. Bei Hamburgs wichtigstem Hafenunternehmen soll der erfahrene Hafen- und Schifffahrtsmanager das internationale Netzwerk ausbauen. „Übernahmen von Terminals in Europa wie zuletzt in Muuga folgen der Logik, logistische Knotenpunkte zu entwickeln, wobei wir vor allem die Transportströme der Zukunft im Blick haben“, sagt er. „Hinzu kommt, dass die Terminals in Estland und in der Ukraine auch unabhängig davon ein großes Wachstumspotenzial haben.“

Seit den 90er-Jahren orientierte sich die HHLA bei ihrer Expansion vor allem nach Osteuropa. Das hing früher vor allem mit der Öffnung des osteuropäischen und des russischen Marktes zusammen. Heutzutage kommt noch das strategische Ziel hinzu, Hamburgs Hafen möglichst eng mit der Entwicklung neuer Handelswege nach Asien zu verbinden, dem von China betriebenen Projekt einer „Neuen Seidenstraße“.

Angesichts der Spannungen zwischen Russland und der Europäischen Union – vor allem beim Konflikt in der Ukraine – bedeutet das ein beständiges Risiko: „Die aktuellen Spannungen zwischen der EU und Russland beeinflussen natürlich unser Geschäft“, sagt Sweens. „Aber die Investition in die Terminals in Muuga und in Odessa, die nicht weit von Russland entfernt liegen, sind als langfristiges Engagement angelegt. Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich die politische Lage langfristig entspannen wird.“

 

 

 

Auch über Europa hinaus könnte die HHLA in den kommenden Jahren expandieren, wenn sich Gelegenheiten ergeben, sagt Sweens. In Chile war das Unternehmen, das zu 68 Prozent der Stadt Hamburg gehört, einige Jahre lang an einem Terminal beteiligt, stieg dort aber wieder aus. Das Tochterunternehmen HPC, das ursprünglich auch den Terminal in Odessa übernommen hatte, kennt den Markt für Beteiligungen weltweit. Obendrein sondierte die HHLA etliche Terminals in vielen Ländern, bevor sie schließlich den Betreiber in Estland übernahm. „Wir prüfen neue Investments danach, ob sie uns eine angemessene Rendite bringen, ob sie unser Gewicht bei den Reedereien erhöhen und ob wir unser Know-how gewinnbringend einsetzen können“, sagt Sweens. „Wir müssen dabei nicht unbedingt Mehrheitseigner sein.“

Immer jedoch geht es um hoch spezialisierte Engagements, die genaue Kenntnisse des jeweiligen Landes erfordern. „Wir wollen und werden uns beim Ausbau unseres internationalen Geschäfts nicht mit den Marktführern wie Hutchison oder Dubai Ports messen. Entscheidend ist für uns, dass Zukäufe zum Netzwerk und zur Expansion der HHLA insgesamt passen“, sagt Sweens. „Die Fokussierung der HHLA orientiert sich nicht an maximaler Größe, sondern vor allem entlang der neuen Vielfalt in der Logistik und in der Hafenwirtschaft. Und es geht natürlich um Wertschöpfung für unsere Eigentümer.“

Langfristig sollen dabei auch Verbindungen zwischen den HHLA-Terminals in Osteuropa und dem Güterbahnnetz des Tochterunternehmens Metrans entstehen, sagt Sweens. Zunächst aber geht es darum, die bestehenden Terminals auf der Straße und der Schiene besser an ihr Hinterland anzubinden, vor allem in Odessa. Das klappt nur mithilfe der Politik. Deshalb muss Sweens an diesem Tag sehr früh aufstehen, um seinen Flug nach Kiew nicht zu verpassen.

 

Autor: Olaf Preuss / WELT